Second Annual DePaul Innovation Day Agenda

9:00 – 9:15
Welcome and Opening Remarks

  • Gabriel Esteban, President
  • Salma Ghanem, Interim Provost
  • Daniela Raicu, Associate Provost for Research

9:15 – 10:30
Academic Growth and Innovation Fund (AGIF): Highlights & Project Presentations

  • Leonard Jason, College of Science & Heath
    Prospective Study of Young Adults During a COVID-19 Epidemic
  • Bree McEwan, College of Communication
    Discover Chicago in VR
  • Kristina Fluty, The Theatre School
     The Theatre School Certificate in Theatrical Intimacy (CTI)
  • Marty Martin, Driehaus College of Business (session chair)

10:45 – 11:45
Leveraging Partnerships to Move Ahead Innovation across Disciplines Panel

  • Fernando De Maio, College of Liberal Arts & Social Sciences and American Medical Association
  • Colleen D. Egan, Illinois’ Science and Technology Coalition
  • Sheena Erete, College of Computing and Digital Media
  • Stacy Ignoffo, Sinai Urban Health Institute
  • Maija Renko, Driehaus College of Business (moderator)

11:45 – 12:30 Break

12:30 – 1:45
University Research Council, Quality of Instruction Council, Public Service Council: Highlights & Project Presentations

  • Isuru Godage, College of Computing & Digital Media
    Soft Robotic Snakes
  • Hilary Conklin, College of Education
    Cultivating Empathic Listening in Democratic Education
  • Katherine Brucher, School of Music
    Approaches to Re-envisioning the Music Core
  • Lauren Miller, Office of Research Services (session chair)

1:45 – 2:00 Break

2:00 – 2:45
Perspectives on the Teacher-Scholar Model Panel

  • Bala Chaudhary, College of Science & Health
  • Blair Davis, College of Communication
  • Tanu Malik, College of Computing & Digital Media
  • Daniela Raicu, College of Computing & Digital Media (moderator)

2:45 – 3:00
Closing Remarks and Next Steps

  • Daniela Raicu, Associate Provost for Research